1911Pro.com

The 1911 Forum For Professional & DIY Gunsmithing
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 6:31 am

Board index » 1911s » 1911 Gunsmithing and Refinishing

Post Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 4:01 pm 
Hello Gentlemen:

This is my first time posting here, though I've been lurking since the site first went on line. I've been a regular at 1911forum.com for many years, but from my observations there is a higher percentage of truly knowledgeable people here. I've just been hesitant to post, as I'm nowhere near your league. That being said, I'm hoping to get some guidance regarding a malfunction from people who are in the know.

Here's my situation:

I have a Springfield lightweight government model that I picked up at a great price (new) almost 10 years ago. It's been in the safe until about a month ago when I decided to get it ready for service, should I some day choose to use it for that. I did my usual complete inspection and adjustment, including adjusting extractor geometry and tension, cleaning up (or replacing) the fire control parts, installation of short trigger, etc., etc.

I've put about 250 rounds through it, and have experienced two different types of malfunctions:

The first is a nose down failure to feed. This pistol came with a ramped barrel, and three times I've had the first cartridge from an 8 round magazine dive into the front of the mag well, just below the barrel's ramp, and get hung up. In these situations the bullet wasn't in contact with the barrel's ramp (I could wiggle the barrel). I figure my only practical option here is to try a higher mag catch or use 7 round mags. I'm not sure there's much else I can do with a ramped barrel.